14 Heroic Republicans

I don’t often say things like that. It is usually 2 or 3. Here are the names of the Republican House members who had the courage to vote against the bill to make Juneteenth a national holiday:

  • Rep. Mo Brooks, R-Ala.
  • Rep. Andy Biggs, R-Ariz.
  • Rep. Scott DesJarlais, R-Tenn.
  • Rep. Tom Tiffany, R-Wis.
  • Rep. Doug LaMalfa, R-Calif.
  • Rep. Mike Rogers, R-Ala.
  • Rep. Ralph Norman, R-S.C.
  • Rep. Chip Roy, R-Texas
  • Rep. Paul Gosar, R-Ariz.
  • Rep. Tom McClintock, R-Calif.
  • Rep. Matt Rosendale, R-Mont.
  • Rep. Ronny Jackson, R-Texas
  • Rep. Thomas Massie, R-Ky.
  • Rep. Andrew Clyde, R-Ga.

They will, of course, all be smeared as racists who wished slavery had continued.

N.B.: I fail to see how “the official creation of a new holiday to celebrate the end of slavery kicking off a one-day government shutdown feels like a win for libertarians,” as one nutty left-libertarian commented about the new holiday.


4:56 pm on June 18, 2021