Colorado, South Dakota Firearms Freedom Act Introduced

Email Print

in the State Senates of both Colorado and South Dakota last week
is a bill known as the “Firearms Freedom Act.” If passed,
the bill would make state law that “any firearm, firearm accessory,
or ammunition that is manufactured commercially or privately in
the state and that remains within the borders of the state is not
subject to federal law or federal regulation, including registration,
under the authority of Congress to regulate interstate commerce.”

This now makes
Firearms Freedom Acts already passed in Montana and Tennessee, and
currently introduced in these 21 states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona,
Colorado Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri,
New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South
Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wyoming.

According to
Gary Marbut of the Montana Shooting Sports Association and author
of the original bill that was introduced in Montana, “It’s
likely that FFAs will be introduced soon in West Virginia, New Mexico,
Idaho, Kansas, Arkansas, Louisiana, North Carolina and maybe elsewhere”

the rest of the article

26, 2010

Email Print